Sunday, May 29, 2011

Lawrence Block- Matthew Scudder (Part One)

I first met Lawrence Block in March, 1984 in Indianapolis, where he was doing a seminar titled "Write For Your Life". I have been a fan ever since.He is the author of the Matthew Scudder series, one of the finest mystery series ever written. His Matthew Scudder novel, ALL THE FLOWERS ARE DYING, was published on March 1, 2005 by William Morrow.
   Mr. Block is the writer of the popular Bernie Rhodenbarr 'Burglar' series. He also writes a series featuring Keller, a hit-man for hire. Other series characters include Evan Tanner and Chip Harrison.
Larry has written several books on the craft of writing; two of my favorites being TELLING LIES FOR FUN AND PROFIT and SPIDER, SPIN ME A WEB. Both of these books are still in print.
Mr. Block's newest Scudder novel is A DROP OF THE HARD STUFF, published by the Mulholland Books imprint of Little, Brown. More about it next week.
   Mr. Block has won the prestigious Grand Master award from the Mystery Writers of America. In May, 2004 he was awarded the Life Achievement Award by the Crime Writers Association in London.
This interview took place in December 2004 at The Trump Plaza in Manhattan. It originally aired on January 5, 2005. Enjoy!


Click here to listen to the interview:

No comments:

Post a Comment